Introduction to “Unlocking Your Entrpreneurial Potential”

I started writing a book about my 30 year Entrepreneurial journey last April. It will be available next month. Early reviews are very positive. I’m excited!

Here’s the back-story……. 

The day I started my first company thirty years ago, I began thinking about writing a book about my entrepreneurial journey. During my twenty-eight years as co-owner and CEO of PurchasingNet, I took notes and saved many of the key documents from each stage of the company’s development.

Shortly after selling our company in late 2009, I sorted through more than fifty boxes and filing cabinets in the basement of our house in New Jersey. It was time to retrieve and consolidate my notes and start writing.

As luck would have it, one week later it rained nine inches in two days, the power went out, the sump pumps stopped working, and the basement flooded, destroying the boxes of company records.

Fortunately, I had moved the important notes and documents to the garage the day before the flood! They stayed dry, and I was able to write this book. I’m not a big believer in the saying that “everything happens for a reason,” but I believe I was destined to write Unlocking Your Entrepreneurial Potential: Marketing, Money, and Management Strategies for the Self-Funded Entrepreneur.

This is the book I wish I had during my entrepreneurial journey—part reference guide, part playbook, and part personal memoir. The book describes principles, techniques, strategies, and tactics that I used along the way … most of them successfully deployed, others not. This book will help entrepreneurs with any type of business avoid the mistakes I made, and focus on the strategies and tactics that proved successful.

Some highlights of my entrepreneurial journey:

  • Started penniless and ended up with more money than I ever imagined.
  • Survived five recessions and four disruptive technology changes over the twenty-eight year history of our software company.
  • Developed the first-ever Windows and web-based automated purchasing systems.
  • Achieved profitability twenty-two out of twenty-four years after hitting the break-even point.
  • As a self-funded privately owned company, competed successfully with three billion-dollar public companies.

All of this was achieved without third-party funding.

A few statistics: There are approximately 28 million small to medium-sized businesses in the US, with over 500,000 new businesses being formed every month. More than 99 percent of these businesses will never get third-party funding. Half of all new businesses fail within five years.

This book is intended to help the self-funded entrepreneur unlock his or her entrepreneurial potential. This will improve your probability of success, however you may define it.

Since virtually all new jobs in our economy are created by new small and midsize businesses, this is more than a self-help book. It’s a prescription for economic prosperity—for the individual, the United States, and entrepreneurs throughout the world.

About Shark Tank Ratings

Author of "Unlocking Your Entrpreneurial Potential: Marketing, Money, and Management Strategies for the Self-Funded Entrepreneur"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would like your feedback. Please comment below.

